Before Facebook, we used to call family and friends who were away. Let’s face it: we did it rarely. Now, at least we’re interacting through likes and comments. But the effects are not all positive. It seems like through those likes and comments, we lost touch with the people really close to us. Instead of calling my mom, I started messaging her. No; the gifs and emoticons cannot replace genuine communication.
Some people got in so deep that they wonder how to delete Facebook permanently. We’ll get to that point, too.
First, let’s talk about the positive and negative effects of Facebook.
The Positive Effects of Facebook
1. It’s Great for Making Connections
Okay; Facebook friends are not real friends. But they are still connections. Facebook is a social network, so you can easily start a conversation when you connect with someone. Friendships and relationships start and evolve through Facebook.
This is usually the first positive effect you experienced when you became part of the community. At that time, you never assumed you’d start wondering how to delete Facebook.
2. Helps with Personal Branding
When you apply for a job, the hiring manager will go through social media in an attempt to evaluate your character. If your Facebook profile is cool and you have many people interacting with your posts, you’re instantly making a great impression.
Personal branding is also important when you start your own business. Facebook is an essential marketing tool that can’t be replaced with any other.
3. Keeps You in Touch
You have family and friends living away? Facebook is the best tool for connecting with them. Sure; Skype and phones still work. But Facebook is more convenient for sharing photos and moments with all your friends at once.
4. Keeps You Informed
Your Facebook feed gives you a daily flow of information. Even if you don’t check the news, you’ll get them through Facebook. You’ll see what’s currently important in the community, and you can even make donations directly through the app.
Are There Any Negative Effects of Facebook?
1. Facebook Is the Kingdom of Stalkers
You have an ex who doesn’t leave you alone? You may block them, but that won’t do it. They may stalk you through common friends or fake profiles. They will know where you are, what you’re doing, and who you’re with.
2. Your Past Activity May Affect Your Current Status
Let’s say you applied for a job and the employer checks your profile. It looks good at first sight, but they dig deeper. They come across your photos from college – you in your underwear, drunk beyond words. That doesn’t make a good impression.
No matter how careful you are about deleting inappropriate content, others uploaded photos of you, too. Maybe you removed the tags, but the photos are still there.
3. It’s a Huge Distraction
How many times per day do you check the feed? You do it in the middle of a task at work. You do it at night before you go to bed. You do it when you’re supposed to exercise in the morning. Social media is a huge distraction from more important things in life. That’s why so many people decide to permanently delete Facebook.
4. Cyber Bullying Is a Real Thing
Do you have any point of view and want to express it? Well you better grow some thick skin because you’re about to get bullied. People on social media are not kind. The fact that they are not interacting in person gives them liberty to be more cruel than usual.
If you’re like most social media users, you’re more cruel than usual, too.
5. Facebook Exposes You Too Much
You want to keep your privacy? If you have a Facebook profile, you can forget about it. Your friends will tag you when you’re together. Everyone will see what you like and what you comment on. Facebook is also known as a reason for breakups.
Let’s face it: when you expose your life through social media, it gets to the point of too much. It’s then when you should start wondering how to delete Facebook.
How Do You Permanently Delete Facebook?
When you want to disappear from the platform, you’ll get two options:
- Deactivate the account, or
- Permanently delete Facebook
If you deactivate your profile, people won’t be able to see you on Facebook. However, the messages you sent will remain in their inboxes. Facebook will save the info from your account, so you can recover it if you choose to reactivate.
You want to delete it forever?
- You’ll need to make a request first. Facebook will give you few days to reconsider your decision. You may cancel the request during this time.
- Once you delete your account, it’s done. You can never get it back.
- Facebook’s backup system stores data, so it may take up to 90 days for all of it to be gone. But the users won’t be able to see your info during this time. They may still see the messages you’ve sent.
Now that you understand this is serious, are you still wondering how to delete Facebook? It’s easy.
- Access your Facebook profile through a web browser. Click the down arrow (account menu) at the top right corner. Access Settings from that menu.
- From the left column, choose General. It’s the first option in the menu.
- Access Manage account.
- You’ll see the option to deactivate your account under this category. Click the link that says Deactivate your account.
- Facebook will ask about the reason for leaving. Choose any answer from the offered options. You can choose to keep using Messenger (click the box if you want to do that). Don’t forget to opt out of all future emails from Facebook.
- Click Deactivate, and that’s it.
If you believe that the negative effects overshadow the positive, it’s time for a Facebook detox!
James Dorian is a technical copywriter at Setapp. He is a tech geek who knows a lot about modern apps that will make your work more productive. James reads tons of online blogs on technology, business, and ways to become a real pro in our modern world of innovations.
Read Full Article Here – The Positive and Negative Effects of Facebook